Top 10 African Nations with most African Player of the Year award winners after Victor Osimhen’s latest triumph


Victor Osimhen was named the 2023 African Player of the Year at the 2023 CAF Awards in Morocco yesterday, December 11th.


The Nigerian international joins Rashidi Yekini, Emmanuel Amunike, Nwankwo Kanu(2x) and Victor Ikpeba, as the Nigerian footballers who have won the award.


However, despite Osimhen’s win last night, the Super Eagles with six previous winners are still five winners behind the African Nation with most African Player of the Year awards.


Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria all feature in the list of the African Nations that has produced the most African Player of the Year award winners.


Five time African Champions Cameroon has produced a total of 11 winners which is almost double the country that appears second on the list.


Samuel Eto’o'(2003, 2004, 2005, 2010), Roger Milla (1976,1990), Thomas N’kono(1979, 1982), Jean Mango Onguene (1980), Theophile Abega(1984) and Patrick Mboma (2000) are the Cameroonian players who have Won the award in history.


Below are the top 10 African Nations with most African Player of the Year award winners.


1. Cameroon -11 winners

Samuel Eto’o'(2003, 2004, 2005, 2010)

Roger Milla (1976,1990)

Thomas N’kono(1979, 1982)

Jean Mango Onguene (1980)

Theophile Abega(1984)

Patrick Mboma (2000)


2. Ghana – 6 winners

Abedi Pele (1991, 1992, 1993)

Samuel Kuffour (2001)

Michael Essien (2006)

Asamoah Gyan (2010)


2. Ivory Coast – 6 Winners

Didier Drogba(2006, 2009)

Yaya Toure (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014)


2. Nigeria – 6 Winners

Rashidi Yekini(1993)

Emmanuel Amunike(1994)

Nwankwo Kanu(1996 and 1999)

Victor Ikpeba(1997)

Victor Osimhen (2023)


5. Senegal – 4 Winners

El Hadji Diouf(2001, 2002)

Sadio Mané (2019, 2022)


5. Morocco – 4 Winners

Ahmed Faras(1975)

Mohamed Timoumi(1985)

Ezzaki Badou(1986)

Mustapha Hadji(1998)


7. Algeria – 3 Winners

Lakhdar Belloumi(1981)

Rabah Madjer(1987)

Riyard Mahrez (2016)


7. Egypt – 3 Winners

Mahmoud El Khatib(1983)

Mohammed Salah (2017, 2018)


7. Liberia – 3 Winners

George Weah(1989, 1994, 1995)


10. Mali – 2 Winners

Salif Keïta(1970)

Frédéric Kanouté(2007)


Countries like, Guinea, DR Congo, Gabon, Togo, Zambia, Congo and Tunisia have produced one African Player of the Year award winner each.


It’s worth noting that the award was Controlled and Sponsored by France Football from 1970-1994 and was called France Football African Player of the Year award at that time.


CAF took over the award ceremony in 1992 and it has been controlled by them since then.


Do you find Kimbi Blog - Latest Cameroon music and sports useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!


Join the Discussion

No one has commented yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


KB Music of the Week

KB Video of the Week

error: Content is protected !!